Infralution Support Forum Index Infralution Support
Support groups for Infralution products
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Unhandled exception on moving license db to new server

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Infralution Support Forum Index -> Licensing Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Radia



Joined: 30 Jul 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 3:34 pm    Post subject: Unhandled exception on moving license db to new server Reply with quote



We moved our License tracking db to a new host, and when we tried to setup the new connection we keep getting this error.

What is this pointing to as the issue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Infralution



Joined: 28 Feb 2005
Posts: 4997

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What database are you using (SQL Server or Access)?

Did you install License Tracker on a new machine - or just move the database?

How did you move the database?
_________________
Infralution Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Radia



Joined: 30 Jul 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2019 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Infralution wrote:
What database are you using (SQL Server or Access)?

Did you install License Tracker on a new machine - or just move the database?

How did you move the database?


We are using SQL Server

We installed on a new machine, was on a windows XP, installed on Windows Server 2016

We moved the database from a web host to an aws s3 bucket. We saved a backup file and then restored the db from that backup into a s3 bucket and then connect to that through sql server
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Infralution



Joined: 28 Feb 2005
Posts: 4997

PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So did you keep the License Tracker application on the same machine it was on previously?

Have you tried just creating a new empty database on aws and see whether you can connect and configure it from License Tracker? If this works then The Installation Wizard will give you the option to copy data from the previous installed database.
_________________
Infralution Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Radia



Joined: 30 Jul 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Infralution wrote:
So did you keep the License Tracker application on the same machine it was on previously?

Have you tried just creating a new empty database on aws and see whether you can connect and configure it from License Tracker? If this works then The Installation Wizard will give you the option to copy data from the previous installed database.


Sorry for the delay, we got side tracked with other projects... Our dev tried this and got the following error

[img]https://imgur.com/a/XLJYidS[/img]

Also it seems we are using version 5 and the current version is version 6? We have the license for version 5 and that is the version our management prefers to keep. When we went to download version 5 even specifying the version number it seems every version downloaded results in version 6 being downloaded. The download is labeled version 5 but comes up as version 6...

[img]https://imgur.com/Fw9J6db[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Infralution



Joined: 28 Feb 2005
Posts: 4997

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2019 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Also it seems we are using version 5 and the current version is version 6? We have the license for version 5 and that is the version our management prefers to keep


We can't provide support for installing Version 5 on AWS. The last release of Version 5 was over 4 years ago any further development or changes will be on Version 6.


Quote:
When we went to download version 5 even specifying the version number it seems every version downloaded results in version 6 being downloaded. The download is labeled version 5 but comes up as version 6...

The version property you are looking at is the version of the Win32 Cabinet Extractor (producted by Microsoft) that is used to pack the installer. This just happens to be Version 6. You do in fact have the Version 5 Setup there - which you will see if you run it because the version is displayed prominently in the setup screens
_________________
Infralution Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Infralution Support Forum Index -> Licensing Support All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group