Infralution Support Forum Index Infralution Support
Support groups for Infralution products
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Adding a seat to a network license

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Infralution Support Forum Index -> Licensing Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Javier



Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 12:32 pm    Post subject: Adding a seat to a network license Reply with quote

One customer currently has a network license with one seat. He wants to buy an additional seat (two users at a time). I know that this is controlled by the number in Product Info, but I cannot find the way to change this number in License Tracker. Could you please help? Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Infralution



Joined: 28 Feb 2005
Posts: 4815

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This depends on what version of Licensing you are using (and built your software against). Prior to version 6 support for floating network licenses was not built directly into Authenticated Licenses. The sample projects for Version 5 included a floating license server and client project that used the ProductInfo to set the number of allowed licenses. Since the ProductInfo is included in the actual license key you can't change this without generating a new license key - so in this case the solution is to generate a new license key with the required number in the ProductInfo. You can then deactivate the old key.

In Version 6 there is better support for floating licenses and the number of Floating Licenses is included as a parameter in the license and can be updated without generating a new key.
_________________
Infralution Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Javier



Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using version 5, so I generated a new license key with the required number in ProductInfo. Thank you.

I have a question about version 6: aren't the existing licenses affected since ProductInfo doesn't contain the number of seats anymore?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Infralution



Joined: 28 Feb 2005
Posts: 4815

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have an application when uses the ProductInfo to set the number of floating licenses then you can still generate keys for it in Version 6. You just continue to use the ProductInfo instead of the new Floating Licenses option when generating keys.
_________________
Infralution Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Infralution Support Forum Index -> Licensing Support All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group