Infralution Support Forum Index Infralution Support
Support groups for Infralution products
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

override invariant with another language

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Infralution Support Forum Index -> Globalizer Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Daniel



Joined: 12 Nov 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 12:46 pm    Post subject: override invariant with another language Reply with quote

Hi Infralution

Our native language is not English, but we would like to have the invariant language to be English. While developing, we fill it with our (poor) technician English and later give it to an English translator. We would then like to override the invariant language with that translated English before creating new gxl/gxz files for other translators - so they only get a proper English in the invariant and their language.

It would be nice to have such a feature in Globalizer.NET, so it can set the status if the new/correct text changed. (Unfortunately this is not done if we cheat by replacing the tags in the gxl file)

Thanks in advance.

Regards
Daniel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Infralution



Joined: 28 Feb 2005
Posts: 4935

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 1:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not entirely sure what you mean. You can just select the entire English column and copy and paste it to the Invariant column - but you want it to do something different with the Status?
_________________
Infralution Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Daniel



Joined: 12 Nov 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops, I didn't think of the C&P possibility. This is even simpler then replacing the tags in the xml file or so.

But even then, it would be perfect when the program would compare the imported English language (or what ever's selected) to the Invariant and set the status of a translation item to 'changed' if it is not the same anymore and was 'translated' (no status change if it was 'added', because that will have to be translated anyway).
This way we can 'mark' those items as changed and the translator of the other languages (which will get the new English as the Invariant plus their language) can check if the translation of their language has to be updated too. I think this is especialy usefull for additional translations of a project where the first bulk translations has been done already and the English translator might find errors or more precise translations for some items.

I hope this explanation is more understandable...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Infralution



Joined: 28 Feb 2005
Posts: 4935

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What you can do is cut and paste then show the Translation Filter dialog (using thenTranslation ->Filter Displayed Translations menu). Set the Filter Mode to "Items Matching in Cultures" and select the Invariant and English cultures. This will display all the translations that are unchanged. You can then select all filtered translations and use the Translation->Set Status menu to set the status to Unchanged.
_________________
Infralution Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Infralution Support Forum Index -> Globalizer Support All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group